Radiation protection legislation changes

Changes to legislation relating to radiation protection will be taking place in 2018, including a new HSE notification process. All dental practices must re-register with HSE by 5th February 2018.

The Ionising Radiation Regulations 2017 (IRR17) will replace IRR99 and the Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2018 (IRMER18) will replace IRMER 2000 and its later amendments. These new regulations reflect the EU Basic Safety Standards Directive 2013 (BSSD; also known as European Council Directive 2013/59/Euratom).

Both include changes relevant to the dental profession.

IRR17 has been published and will take effect from 1st January 2018. The most significant change for dental practices is the requirement to register with the HSE, with payment of a £25 registration fee. This applies to all practices working with ionising radiation, including those that have previously notified HSE that ionising radiation is used on their premises.

Registration begins on 1st January 2018 and practices must be registered by 5th February 2018.

Further information is available on the SDCEP practice support manual pages.




Back to News index